The Lord be magnified

*Psalm40:16,”Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: let such as love thy salvation say continually, The LORD be magnified.”

*Psalm 69:30, “I will praise the name of God with song And magnify Him with thanksgiving.”

*Psalm 70:4, “Let all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You; And let those who love Your salvation say continually, “Let God be magnified.”

It can be very interesting the various different answers that are received when one asks the question, “What is the purpose of life?” More often than not, the answer is “to be happy” or, if you live in the Bible Belt, “to make others happy”.  Sadly, neither of these are even close to the truth. It is the very rare occasion that a person who is asked this controversial question confidently answers, “To magnify the Lord”. In all reality, though these kind of people are few and far between, they are the ones who have the true answer to this so-called mystery of life.

For a genuine Christian, this shouldn’t be that hard to comprehend. We have been made in the image of God to bring Him glory and to honor Him with our unending devotion and service. This is the purpose of life, but isn’t it ironic that we so often forget the whole reason why we are alive? This point has really been hitting home with me as I have been reading through the Psalms. In all that I think, say, and do in this life I am to magnify my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. The word “magnify” makes me think of a magnifying glass. I am to be such a representative of Christ that if someone were to put me under a magnifying glass then, they wouldn’t see me, but they would immediately recognize Christ magnified in me. He deserves every little bit of the glory in my life because He is the reason why I am living.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

