Deliverance

*Psalm 108:12-13, “Oh give us help against our adversary for deliverance by man is in vain. Through God we will do valiantly, and it is He who shall tread down our adversaries.”

This has been a point that God has really engraved upon my heart over the past year as He has been growing me in my faith. Yes, I know that I am in an intense battle against my flesh. But the question is, am I going to trust myself or God for the victory in the battle?

God has had to remind me over and over again that He is the only one who can truly defeat my sin. Any attempt that I make to rid myself of any particular sin that is plaguing me is worthless, pointless, and is destined for failure. But that’s not the end of the story. I may be weak, helpless, and defenseless, but I know that God is strong, mighty, and powerful in battle. Through Him, I will do valiantly! No, I should never depend on myself for any kind of deliverance. But He will never ignore the prayer of His child. Though I know that I still often fail to ask the deliverance of Him, I also know that I can confidently say, “Oh give me help against my adversary, for any of deliverance of mine is in vain. Through You I will do valiantly, and it is You who shall tread down my adversaries.”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

