Investing in Eternity

*Matthew 6:19, “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, there moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Honestly, I don’t think that I truly knew what this passage meant until recently. God has really been showing me in His word exactly what my goals should be for each individual moment of the day. For a while, He was showing me what the ultimate purpose of my life should be: to serve Him and to bring complete and total glory to His name in all that I do. That one phrase, “…in all that I do”, is where laying up treasures in heaven comes in. Now that I know the purpose of life, what should be the purpose of each day and every minute?

As one who has been redeemed by Christ and who can look forward to eternity spent in heaven, my focus should never be on the temporary and perishable things of this world. Not only have I been given the incredible gift of eternal life in heaven, but I have received the awesome privilege of serving Christ and of being able to look past this life to where my heart should be. So often, I know that I can get caught up in the emotional and temporal side of life rather than seeking the things of Christ. This is always a complete waste of the precious time that God has given me! The time that I have here on earth is so short, it wouldn’t even make a visible dot on the line of eternity. So why invest in this life, that is so quickly passing away?

My gaze is on eternity. As I each moment passes, I should be carefully considering how it is being used. How am I laying up treasures in heaven now? What is God’s will for me in this moment? Was that minute invested in my own sinful desires or in God’s glory? These should be the foremost thoughts of my mind, my only focus in all that I do. Every minute is a choice to indulge in temporal treasures or to increase those riches that I will be able to lay at Jesus’ feet. If my heart is in the things of this world, which so quickly wither and fade, then any hope that I have of casting crowns at my Savior’s feet will wither and fade just as quickly. But if my heart is searching for the imperishable qualities of heaven, that hope of glorifying Christ will last for all of eternity, being founded in the only thing that can not be destroyed and that will never fade away. It’s the only thing worth living and dying for.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

