Declaration of Dependence

One thing that God has really been laying on my heart is the fact that He is my ultimate strength and life and that I am literally nothing without Him. As I have been struggling to overcome certain areas of sin in my life recently, I have been constantly reminded that I must be completely and totally dependent on God for my strength and my endurance in the fight. I am so incredibly amazed all the time that God would yet choose to restore my vitality to me when I cry out to Him in my distress. Yet He never fails to fulfill His promises to me:

Isaiah 40:29-31, “He gives strength to the weary, and to him who lacks might He increases power. Though youths grow weary and tired, and vigorous young men stumble badly, yet those who wait for the LORD will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.

I have been experiencing some of that new strength daily as I have become more and more dependent on Jesus Christ to help me defeat my sin. I have been continually reminded that, when looking at the reality of who I am and who God is, I am the very essence of the word nothing. Where would I be if it weren’t for the sovereign and saving grace of my God? I am amazed that He even chooses to give another breath to this wretched and depraved creature…….like He did just now……..and now He gave me another one………and that breath just now was a gift of grace, too. It’s humbling to think about it like that. I guess that I am essentially declaring my utter dependence of the Lord for my strength in the fight against my flesh, as well as my day to day life-saving breath. God is my ultimate life source and anything that I was, am, or ever will be is all because of Him.

Comments
2 Responses to “Declaration of Dependence”
  1. Remember what Paul told us in 1 Timothy 1:15

    “The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.”

    Remember what we were told in Romans:

    “For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly”
    –Romans 5:6

    Remember the roman soldier who pounded the nail into our Savior? Jesus died for him too. There is no sin that Christ cannot save us from. The greatest freedom we can ever possess is the freedom from the chains that bind us to sin. That is the freedom our great Savior gave us as a gift. The most wonderful thing is that even though we are not worthy of the gift, God came down, lived like us, was tempted like us, experienced it all, died in our place, in the most incredible act of selfless love anyone has ever seen.

    Remember when you are tempted, that He was tempted just like us. Remember that we will fail, and don’t rely on yourself, but on Him. Put your worries on the Lord, give Him the control, and He will get you through the difficult times.

    God Bless…

  2. I really really like this, keep up the good work. Would really love to see some more of your blogs!

    We all are reminded of having to be dependent on God, even till the day we day.

    In christ!

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

