Amazing Grace

This morning I was reading in Jeremiah and I found myself awestruck (yet again) by God’s incredible grace toward me. I cannot even comprehend just how much I sin daily and I certainly cannot understand the depth of my own depravity. Yet God, who sees and understands my sin nature to its very core, does not destroy me in my wickedness, but He chooses, not only spare me from His wrath, but to love and care for me out of His amazing grace.

Jeremiah 10:24, “ Correct me, O LORD, but with justice; not with Your anger, or You will bring me to nothing.”

Ephesians 2:8, “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;…”

If God, at anytime, chose to pour the cup of His wrath over me, then I would certainly be reduced to nothing. But how great His grace must be that He chose to send His son to take that cup of wrath for me! Rather than delivering punishment upon me for my sin, my Father gently corrects me when I trespass His commands. Rather than letting me stray toward my own destruction, He lovingly guides me back to His path of righteousness. I would be lost, but in Him I am found. I would be blind, but with Him I can see. How precious does His grace appear when I see my own sinful state as compared to His perfection and glory.  Isn’t it amazing that God is the only One who truly understands the measure of our sins, but then He is the only One to whom we can look for infinite love and mercy?

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

