Leading Them…

Most of us are familiar with the saying, “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink.” Sadly, this illustration is often used in reference to evangelism: you can share the Gospel with a person, you can “plant the seed” in their heart, but you can’t make them accept salvation and you can’t make the seed grow. This is a true statement, if only for the reason that I have to depend on God to grow the seed. However, I recently heard a newly improved version while I was at a youth summer camp this past week. Our speaker, Johnathan Anderson, introduced the saying this way:”You can lead a horse to water, you can’t make it drink, but you can salt its oats.” I believe that the same principle can apply to a believer as he/she lives like Christ before the eyes of the world.

Matthew 5:16, “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”

A huge part of evangelism, as I learned at camp, is living in such a way that an unbeliever might see that there is something or Someone who is making a difference in my life. Although speaking the Word of God is of equal value and importance compared to simple actions, my words will never be taken just for themselves. The message that my words are conveying must be backed up by deeds which convey the same message. It is undeniable that there have been many people who have rejected the truth because a hypocritical life lived before their eyes. A Christian must always take life seriously for the sake of the sinners who are watching and wanting a Savior.

Yes, I must preach the Gospel to the nations, and yes, it is impossible for me to force Christ’s salvation into the hearts of the nations, but it is also true that I can show the nations just how much of a difference Jesus Christ really makes in the lives of His followers. I must let the light of Christ shine in my life so that those who see the light will be drawn to the light in me. I must live in a such a way that those who watch and observe will suddenly find within themselves an unquenchable thirst for the Living Waters that Jesus offers. Am I truly living out a life for Christ, speaking, working, and drawing the world toward His light and His love?

Comments
One Response to “Leading Them…”
  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hello! Thanks for checking out my blog. I really like yours, too. You write on things that I am also passionate about, and your work is very inspiring. This post was great for me beause I have many family members who have not yet been saved. This is a great encouragement for me! Unfortunately, living the word is much harder than just stating it…but it is worth while and what solidifies the truth that we carry.

    God bless,
    Elizabeth

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

