That special time with God

Deuteronomy 8:3b, “…that He might make you understand that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by everything that proceeds out of the mouth of the Lord.”

This past week, the meaning of this verse became even more real to me while I was vacationing in Virginia. Isn’t it true that it can be so tempting to simply take a vacation from God during those summer weeks of “relaxation”? To live on bread alone for just a few days? No. I had the opportunity to experience just why it is so important for me to constantly be in God’s Word for my daily provision.

I’ll be honest. Although I had determined in my mind that I would not let the temptation to sleep for “five more minutes” override my desire to be in God’s Word every morning, I failed in that attempt during the latter part of the week. And although my flesh was telling me that sleeping a bit longer wouldn’t hurt anything, it was not long before I recognized the consequences of my laziness. On those days when I chose to live by bread alone, my guard was let down, and I found that I became more susceptible to temptation and more likely to ignore the sin once it was committed. Not only that, but I believe that I was more quick-tempered than usual and I was more self-seeking than if I had spent time in God’s Word that morning.  This, combined with the fact that I had been reading The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis at the time, brought me to the realization that I am nothing if I do not have the Word of God in my heart.

That special time every morning spent in simple communion with God is of incalculable value to my own personal growth in Jesus Christ. Not only does it draw me closer to my Savior, but it clothes in me in the armor of God so that I can face the temptations of the day ahead. Satan is ever looking for an opportunity to make me stumble, to sin against my God, to gain a foothold in my heart, and his tactics are so numerous that I can never hope to combat them in my own strength. Those morning devotions in God’s Word are what strengthen me so that I may conquer the sin and the temptations. I cannot live on bread alone, for then I would die in the battle against sin. But if I live on every word that proceeds from the mouth of God, it is then and only then that I find complete victory.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

