Oasis

White StoneSo, I haven’t posted on my blog for two weeks, and my readers are probably wondering why. To be honest, the last couple of weeks have felt somewhat like a spiritual wasteland. While I have been away from my blog, I have been failing more than I’d like to say in really studying God’s Word for myself each and every morning. And even when did take the time in the morning to study God’s Word, I felt like there wasn’t much to apply to my life, like God wasn’t teaching me anything. I was wrong. Looking back on it now, as I have been able to get back into a schedule of spending time with my Savior every day, I find that even when I was unfaithful to search for God’s truth, He was still faithful to teach it to me. Even when I felt like my soul was starving for spiritual food, God was placing it right in front of me, waiting for me to partake of the gift He had provided. So He has taught me truths about His Word, His faithfulness, and forgiveness.

I can not value God’s Word highly enough.  God has chosen to reveal Himself to His children through His Word. It is through prayer and God’s Word that I can truly get to know His character and His will for my life; there is no other way. If I neglect to study the Bible, I am spitting in the face of my Savior and telling Him that I don’t want to have anything to do with Him. If I truly desire to be familiar with the character of my God and to be conformed to His image, then I must study His Word without fail. His Word is my key to serving Him with all of my heart, soul, mind, and strength.

II Timothy 2:13, “If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.” Where would I be without God’s faithfulness? How would I live if He was not still faithful, even when I am not? How can I sin against a God who never neglects me, though I continually decide to please my flesh rather than please Him with devotion and prayer? All the more reason that I should praise Him. For I may never study His Word another day, and He will never leave me nor forsake me. He is so good to me, that I can simply repent of my laziness and begin pursuing an intimate relationship with Him anew.

It is more sure that God will forgive every single one of my sins than that the sun will rise tomorrow. This is a promise that cannot be ignored. Yes, I fail to serve my God with every minute and every breath that He has given me. Yes, there are and always will be mornings when I will neglect God’s Word in my sinful laziness. Yes, I am an utterly depraved sinner, a sinner that is need of forgiveness. Before I allow myself to sink into depression and selfishness, I must remind myself that there is a God who not only desires for me to draw closer to Him, but who will always forgive me when I walk away from His commands. And it is because of His Son that I can receive this forgiveness, that I can turn away from my sin, and begin following Him again. Without His forgiveness, I would never be able to begin studying God’s Word again with a pure heart. So now, I am again studying the Word of God faithfully every morning, but it is only because of His grace, and He deserves all the glory.

Comments
One Response to “Oasis”
  1. Nana says:

    What wonderful truths you are learning from God’s Word. I love your heart and your passion for God. I see God’s faithfulness to my prayers through this wonderful websit that you have started. What a privilege it is for me to be able to follow along with you on your spiritual journey. I love you my sweet little girl.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

