Mountains….beauty…….God

Psalm 65: 5-8, ” By awesome deeds You answer us in righteousness, O God of our salvation, You who are the trust of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest sea; who establishes the mountains by His strength, being girded with might; who stills the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, and the tumult of the peoples. They who dwell in the ends of the earth stand in awe of You signs; You make the dawn and the sunset shout for joy.”

Just this past weekend, my family and I took a camping trip into the wondrous and beautiful Smokey Mountains of Tennessee. This was simply our regular annual fall vacation that we take every year, but I think that God had something special in mind to teach me during the few days that we camped out. Needless to say, at this time of year the vibrant colors of leaves changing in their seasons was nearly at its peak. The maple  and tulip poplar trees blazed yellow and orange while the oak and ash seemed smolder red and burgundy like the embers dying in our campsite fire pit. The sky was a clear, deep blue, not to mention the weather was absolutely perfect with a satisfactory breeze blowing besides. Amid the gorgeous mountain arrays of colors and tones, I had the opportunity to bike trails, canoe in a seemingly glass lake, sleep, and work on my photography skills. 🙂 By the time the weekend was over, I felt refreshed and full of that special energy and fervor that can only come with a period spent in God’s creation.

But although it was clear that only God could have fashioned such an extravagant wilderness, I am ashamed to say that my mind, while glorying in the beauty of the mountains, did not immediately attribute their elegance to the creativity and imagination of my God. Actually, it wasn’t until my family was driving home that I really thought about how God had blessed me that weekend. Curiously, my dad happened to be listening to an audio book on the way home, and one of the things that the author addressed as we listened was the fear of the Lord. In fact, the author explicitly stated that one’s fear and awe of the Lord God often grows when one beholds the extraordinary creation of the Lord.

I suddenly occurred to me that one never feels quite so small as when one sees the grandeur of the Grand Canyon, the splendor of Niagara Falls, or the vastness of the Redwood Forest. And I never felt quite so humbled as when I finally realized that I had just seen a glimpse of the glory of God through His indescribable creation during that weekend in the Smokey’s. In all earnestness, I learned that if I am to grow in my personal fear and awe of the Lord, I must look at the earth as the Psalmist did –  supreme works of the Mighty Creator. How much better would I love and honor my God if I thanked Him and praised His name for every piece of handiwork, great or small, that He chose to reveal to me? How much more could I proclaim His majesty when my eyes are opened and I behold in awe the wonders that He has created?

Comments
One Response to “Mountains….beauty…….God”
  1. toomanythorns says:

    Great illustration of the majesty of God and the fingerprints he leaves throughout creation.. Consider how man tries to recreate creation with cities and streets and monuments and such and as they wear down, life, Like plants and things of that nature always come up through the cracks around sidewalks and buildings.. GOD IS AWESOME.. thanks for sharing

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

