Disciplined to kneel before Him

Ephesians 6:17-18, “And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints,”

I Thessalonians 5;17, “Pray without ceasing;”

Prayer – a spiritual discipline that is not only absolutely essential for the Christian walk, but it is also something that I did not truly begin to value until recently. It is true that I engaged in prayer in the mornings and at meal times with my family, and I prayed often with friends from my beloved youth group. But was it enough? Apparently not. And it was not until a few weeks ago that I realized that my personal prayer and communion time with my Lord and Savior was seriously lacking.

As a result of a weekend of teaching on the spiritual disciplines, I finally allowed myself to realize that prayer is, first of all, a simple command from the Lord. Not only has Christ provided His children with a perfect example of what prayer should look like (Matthew 6:5-15), but He also was Himself the example, frequently and fervently praying and beseeching His Father to spare Him the cup of wrath. If we desire to be conformed to the image of Christ, to be mini-Christs, then we must conform to His model of prayer. Do we worship and praise our Father in prayer every day? Do we humbly fall on our knees, seeking His forgiveness and remission of sins? Do we frequently thank Him and praise Him for His abundant and unmerited blessings? Do we petition our Father on behalf of fellow believers that they might be built up in their faith, and of unbelievers that they might be drawn to the Savior through His grace? I didn’t. But what a wonderful and awesome difference it has made in my own life these past few weeks as I have disciplined myself to pray!

Not many of us truly know the power of prayer and the difference that it can make in our own lives as well as others’. But I believe that I have had a mere glimpse of it, praying in the morning and finding God’s strength and grace to be ever more abundant throughout the day. Not only does prayer provide us with a means of beseeching Christ’s cleansing of our sins, but it also strengthens us for the fight of the flesh and spirit that rages during the day. Matthew 7:7 commands us to ask that it might be given. All things are possible by prayer! One is drawn closer the Father, unbelieving hearts are changed by the power of the Gospel, the saints are strengthened to pursue Christ with reckless abandon, the sick are healed, the world sees the power of the Creator, and God is glorified! As believers, we must learn to be disciplined in prayer so that such a difference can be made for the glory of our Savior.

Comments
2 Responses to “Disciplined to kneel before Him”
  1. Great article! I too have been focusing on being more fervent in prayer.

  2. Amen and Amen
    I came to a similar understanding myself nearly at the same time:

    http://thinkingoutkeyboard.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/the-privilege/

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

