Time is of the essence

Time is of the essence. With the onset of the new year 2012, this is the essential mindset of the majority of the people in the world. Thus, we plan and organize, we list each and every resolution, and we look forward to the coming year, wondering if it will be enough to accomplish the tasks that we have assigned to it. Maybe we have organized our lists in order of importance. What most needs to be accomplished this year? For the believer in Jesus Christ that shouldn’t be very hard to decide.

Mark 12:29-30, “Jesus answered, ‘The foremost (commandment) is, ‘Hear O Israel! The Lord your God is one Lord; and you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ ” 

God has been teaching me that the whole point of my life and of my existence is bring glory to Him. The very foremost and most important commandment that He has given me is to love Him with all that I am and everything that I have, so that in all that I do I can say that it is for Him. It is for His glory. And as this new year begins this commandment does not change, and our response to it as believers should not change. As we compile our lists of what we want to accomplish this year, we must ask ourselves, what is the purpose? What are the motivations and the desires that are driving me this year? Is it that God is glorified? For every believer, our New Years Resolutions lists should be motivated by what God’s Word tells us will most honor Him. In order of importance, He must be the crown of preeminent importance and priority.

Time is of the essence. But it is because I can never bring enough glory to God during my life time, let alone in one year. This is only the second day, and like most, my resolutions to glorify God are running strong. But have I resolved that they will last? Not only should my convictions to glorify God be renewed each year, but I should also be determined that they will not wane as the year progresses. 2 Corinthians 4:16, “Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day.” Regardless of what may occur or come to pass during this oncoming year, I cannot lose heart in honoring my God. He has provided the means for me to be renewed in strength each day, primarily through His Word. I have no excuse not the spend each day of this year seeking to lift up the Lord.

And does He not deserve it? After all, He has given me this day and hopefully this day to live. Should I not thank Him, whether in word, thought or action, simply for blessing me with this day? This year, I must keep in mind that the time is short. More important than the fact that each year seems shorter and shorter is the fact that God can choose whenever He pleases to take me to His heavenly kingdom. Time is of the essence. This year, I hope that I, as well as each of my readers and all believers, will make it our ambition and their primary resolution this year to glorify God in all that we do.

1 Corinthians 10:31, “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

 

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

