James 1 – Doers of the Word

James 1:21 – 25

Therefore, putting aside all filthiness and all that remains of wickedness, in humility receive the word implanted which is able to save your souls. But prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the words and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at his natural face in a mirror; for once he has looked at himself and gone away, he has immediately forgotten what kind of a person he was. But one who looks intently at the perfect law, the law of liberty, and abides by it, not having become a forgetful hearer but an effectual doer, this man will be blessed in what he does.

I love the book of James. It’s so practical. But this particular passage motivates, encourages, and challenges me every time I read it. It has become one of my personal goals for 2012. My theme verse. God has slowly been teaching me that I cannot simply read His perfect Word and be satisfied. I must apply it! I cannot merely be a hearer. I must be a doer! Do I desire to accomplish good deeds for God’s glory? Then I must apply His Word and His commands to my life. God’s Word is the mirror for my soul. Will I forget what I have seen?

Will you?

Comments
3 Responses to “James 1 – Doers of the Word”
  1. You have echoed my thoughts almost exactly. I read this passage in my devotions this morning, and was deeply challenged to be an effectual doer. Thank you for (unknowingly)driving this home. The sovereignty of God is amazing, is it not?

  2. budsummers says:

    I like you find the book of James to be a gold mine. As a new christian (my kids might say back when the earth was cooling) I memorized the first chapter of the book. I find the motivation to Do for God comes when I remember the goodness in everything that comes my way. James 1:2 Doing Good seems to come out of that realization.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 845 other subscribers