The Donkey, the Stallion, and the Strategy of the Hills – An Allegory

“The Donkey, the Stallion, and the Strategy of the Hills” is somewhat of an interesting name for an allegory written by a well-known preacher. But the meaning behind the story is what makes it so profound. It is a vivid retelling of the story of Jesus Christ our Savior, who sacrificed all that He was, all of His glory and majesty, to take the form of weak and despicable human beings, to die on a cruel cross, and to bear the wrath of God along with the sin and the shame of the world. Christ came unto His own, but His own did not receive Him. In this sermon/allegory written and presented by John Piper, we find the truth about Christ’s ministry and death exposed in a tale of a vineyard, the tenants, the King, and the sacrifice of His Son.  Not only has it convicted me of my own sin, but also increased my love for my Savior, being reminded that He sacrificed Himself for my sake so that my sins could be forgiven, though I be a wicked tenant and He a merciful Savior, Son of the King. I would encourage all of my readers to watch and/or read and/or listen to this sermon so that they might be encouraged as I have.

Read the sermon or download the mp3 here: http://www.desiringgod.org/resource-library/sermons/the-donkey-the-stallion-and-the-strategy-of-the-hills

“Though arrogance and rage assail
Conspiracy will not prevail.
In death recall unerringly
That you will always reign with Me.” – John Piper, The Donkey, the Stallion, and the Strategy of the Hills

Comments
5 Responses to “The Donkey, the Stallion, and the Strategy of the Hills – An Allegory”
  1. Reblogged this on Persevering Hope and commented:
    I have the same feelings about this allegory, and would also encourage my readers to listen to it. John Piper paints a picture of the good news of salvation vividly here. I pray that those who listen to it will be as encouraged as I was.

  2. “He planted the vineyard, and set a hedge around it, and dug a winepress in it, and built a tower. And then he chose one of the poorest clans in his realm to be the tenants of his vineyard, and he promised them all the help they needed if they would but ask him and trust him to give it. It was an almost unbelievable privilege to be chosen by the great king to tend his vineyard. And in the early days the tenants loved their work. They could scarcely call it work. The king gave them all they needed, he let them eat the fruit, he guarded their borders, and sent his messengers to them often. It was as if he were doing the work.” – I am so encouraged by this, what a great picture of God’s loving grace on us.

    • Sierra says:

      That is one of my favorite passages of the sermon. We don’t deserve anything that God has given us. We are infinitely wicked, depraved, and arrogant that we would crucify His righteous and perfect Son in our words, thoughts, and actions. But then, He is infinitely gracious, loving, and forgiving, which makes salvation all the more sweeter to those who have repented and turned to Christ because of His sacrifice.

      • Yes. This fact is becoming ever truer and more real to me as I grow in the Lord. To paraphrase Worth Dying For, “The very Hands that held the stars, were then sentenced to wear my scars. It was love which purchased this traitor’s heart.” This love is incomprehensible. The more I grow, the more I see how my sin has made little patterns and habits in my very thoughts, words, and actions. A love such as this should drive us to abstain from sin; because we desire to return this love! I mean this with all seriousness; I think it is a truth which we are quick to forget among friends who are professing believers. Many times I will find myself saying things I would not say at home for the sake of laughs, or laughing at things I would not consider humorous at home if my sibling said it; in fact, I would reprimand her…. I’ll stop ranting; I think I might make a post on this topic.
        The passage which affected me the most is: “He looked up again and said, “Who is willing to go for me and deliver my word to the tenants of the vineyard?” And all six stepped forward, because there was no privilege greater in all the realm, than to bear the message of the king. The king took each one by the hand, looked into his eyes, and said, as if he were the only person in the world,
        Though arrogance and rage assail
        Conspiracy will not prevail.
        In death recall unerringly
        That you will always reign with me.”

        This is how we should respond to God’s gift of His Word. There is no greater privilege in all the world, than to bear the Message of our King. There is no lasting consequence for such service; only everlasting reward. Why should we not make every effort to share it?

  3. So true Noah, our greatest pleasure is to share His message of forgiveness. 1 Corinthians 9:16-18 says, “For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of, for necessity is laid upon me; yes, woe is me if I do not preach the gospel! For if I do this willingly, I have a reward; but if against my will, I have been entrusted with a stewardship. What is my reward then? That when I preach the gospel, I may present the gospel of Christ without charge, that I may not abuse my authority in the gospel.” What a great example for us, that we would consider it our reward to be able to share the Word concerning Christ. I pray, knowing that we do not appreciate the authority of His word, that we would not be cowards who care about what others may think about or do to us, but that it would be our joy to share the gospel at every opportunity.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

