Again, it begins with God’s Word…

Grass

So, it seems that no sooner do I post a celebratory article on how faithful the Lord Jesus Christ has been to me during a wonderful past year of blogging, than I abandon my readers and subscribers for more than a month without word or reason for my disappearance. The truth is, though God has still been incredibly faithful to teach me many things about Himself and about how I need to serve Him better, I have not been as faithful as I probably should have been to continue posting on my blog. The more prominent reason for this is that time has not been a hugely accessible commodity in my life for the past month. This, combined with the overwhelming factor of the many things God has been showing me, has made for a not-so-updated blog. With all sincerity, I am asking my incredibly faithful readers, who continually read about how God has been faithful, to forgive this temporarily unfaithful author. Thanks to you all for hangin’ in there. 🙂

Being that I am at this moment launching into a second year of blogging, I believe it would be wise to bring it all back to the very basis of the Anchored Soul blog – God’s Word. It began with a love for God and a desire to share what He would reveal through the increase of knowledge and understanding of His Word. And it continues in this way. God has chosen to reveal Himself – His character and eternal will – to His children by way of the inspired Word. Consequently, the foundation of the Christian life (and the Anchored Soul blog) is built upon the exclusively authoritative truth of Scripture.

Recently, I was reminded of the fact that God’s Word is absolutely essential to the believer’s walk with the Lord. Aside from Scripture, no Christian can love God, serve God, or glorify God in a manner that is pleasing to Him. So, dear reader, I know it’s a lot, but please do not skim the following Scripture passages. They concern Scripture itself – the very manifestation of the God that you are called to serve if you have surrendered your life to Him and have accepted the free gift of salvation….

 Deuteronomy 8:3b, “…man does not live by bread alone. but man lives by everything that proceeds out of the mouth of the Lord.”

Psalm 119:160, “The sum of Your Word is truth, and every one of Your righteous ordinances is everlasting.

Proverbs 30:5-6, “Every word of God is tested; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him. Do not add to His words of He will reprove you, and you will be found a liar.”

Isaiah 40:7-8, “The grass withers, the flower fades, when the breath of the Lord blows upon it; surely the people are grass. The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever.”

John 1:1-3, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being.”

2 Timothy 3:16-17, “All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.”

Hebrews 4:12, “For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”

2 Peter 1:20-21, “But know this first of all, that no prophecy of Scripture is a matter of one’s own interpretation, for no prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God.”

May we all learn to love God with our heart, soul, mind and strength, and to obey His inspired Word with all that we are and all that we have been given by God for His glory…..


Comments
2 Responses to “Again, it begins with God’s Word…”
  1. Thank you so much Sierra. I am always spurred on in my walk with the Lord when I look at you. He has affected me hugely through your words and actions. Never stop pursuing Him, for you have a lasting affect on others. I am so glad and I thank our Father consistently for allowing me to know you, let alone His allowance of our friendship! I say this not to lift you up, but rather to raise our sovereign God on high. James 1:17, “Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” Please, don’t stop, slow, stall, or continue at the same pace in your walk with God. Run the race, finish the course, fight the good fight , keep your faith. I am praying for you.

    • Sierra says:

      Thank you, Noah. Honestly, I am just so thankful for God’s grace and His unending blessings. He has truly been faithful to teach me so many things about His character, His true glory and majesty. Really, it’s a gift from His hand that I am able to share these things with you. I am very thankful that God has allowed us to build a friendship that is centered on Him, not only because He has been honored and glorified through it, but also because you have been a major encouragement to me as well. Is not God’s grace so astounding? By His strength, I know that we will both be able to continue to grow in our pursuit of Him, always desiring individually to be conformed to the image of Christ. Thanks so much for the encouragement, Noah. It meant a lot to me……and btw, I’m praying for you too. 🙂

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

