“Beloved: The Last Supper” – Mike Donehey

As believers, we are referred to as “one who has been bought with a price”. Christ sacrificed Himself to pay the price and the penalty for our sin so that we might be reconciled to the Creator and Father of mankind. There is no greater love than this. Now we are experiencing that love as the bride of Christ, awaiting His return in glory and light. Tenth Avenue North does a superb job telling the story of Christ’s sacrifice and love for the church and their song “Beloved”. And in the following video, Mike Donehey, lead singer of Tenth Avenue North, explains the story behind the song. Combining beautifully the truth of Scripture and its historical context, we find the true meaning of Christ’s love relationship with the His church, His bride.

The song “Beloved” itself can be found on the Grooveshark, Myspace, Rhapsody, and Youtube websites if any of my readers would like to listen to it, but more important than the sound of the song are the words that make it what it is….

Beloved by Tenth Avenue North

Love of My life
Look deep in My eyes
There you will find what you need
Give Me your life
The lust and the lies
The past you’re afraid I might see
You’ve been running away from Me

Love of My life
Look deep in My eyes
There you will find what you need
I’m the Giver of life
I’ll clothe you in white
My immaculate bride you will be
Oh, come running home to Me

You’ve been a mistress, My wife
You’re chasing lovers that won’t satisfy
Won’t you let Me make you My bride
You will drink of My lips
And you’ll taste new life

(Chorus)You’re My beloved
Lover I’m yours
Death shall not part us
It’s you I died for
For better or worse
Forever we’ll be
My Love it unites us
And it binds you to Me
It’s a mystery

Finally, the following video explains not only the meaning behind the song “Beloved”, but also the message of salvation as Christ has presented it to His bride, the church. It’s only five minutes long, so I encourage all of my readers to watch it….

Ephesians 5:25-27, “Husbands, love you wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her, so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

