Hezekiah’s Prayer

Luke 12:23-25, “For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing. Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap; they have no storeroom nor barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable you are than the birds! And which of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life’s span?” 

On the very practical side of things, I was recently reminded that I have everything to lose by trusting my own strength, and that I have everything to gain if I will lay my worries, concerns, and desires at the feet of my sovereign God. Life can never be joyful in Christ if I refuse to trust Him in all circumstances. Worrying itself is a sin because it rebels against God’s sovereignty, His omniscience, His power, and His love for me. Complete joy and satisfaction comes with complete surrender of every aspect of my life to God, knowing that He holds my life in His hands. He knows the very number of hairs on my head and the very hour that I will go to be eternally with Him. Is He not even able to carry me through the trials of this temporary life? Only He has supreme control over my life and there is nothing that I can do in my own strength to presume upon that. With that being said, a story of a faithful king of Israel drove this point home in my heart this week…

2 Kings 20:1-6, “In those days, Hezekiah became mortally ill. And Isaiah the prophet the son of Amoz came to him and said to him, ‘Thus says the Lord, “Set your house in order, for you shall die and not live” ‘ Then he (Hezekiah) turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, saying, ‘Remember me now, O Lord, I beseech You, how I have walked before You in truth and with a whole heart and have done what is good in Your sight.’ Hezekiah wept bitterly. Before Isaiah had gone out of the middle court, the word of the Lord came to him, saying ‘Return and say to Hezekiah the leader of My people, “Thus says the Lord, the God of your father David, ‘I have heard your prayer, I have seen your tears; behold, I will heal you. On the third day you shall go up to the house of the Lord. I will add fifteen years to your life, and I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria; and I will defend this city for My sake and for My servant David’s sake.’ ” ‘ ” 

Who can add hours, let alone years, to His servant’s life because of His great power? Only God alone! When will I understand His might and His supreme authority over all things in such sharp contrast to my own sinfulness, inadequacy, and feebleness of strength. When will I learn to trust in Him for all things, to lay all things at His feet in complete recognition of His transcendence over creation? Why do I worry when there is such a great God, who is eternally greater than I? May we all learn to destroy our pride, and to humbly come before God with our requests in the knowledge that He is able to do far more abundantly beyond what we could ever ask or think. May we acknowledge daily that we are nothing and He is all strength and power and glory and majesty forever and ever.

Comments
3 Responses to “Hezekiah’s Prayer”
  1. alwayzhis says:

    Amen and praise His Holy Name…all we do, everyday! For He is (or should be) our “All in All”. Blessings

  2. dwilliams says:

    This is an absolutely POWERFUL post!

  3. Roz Wyton says:

    I am so humbled by your sensitivity to the Lord and am thrilled that at such a young age you are beginning to grasp some of the deep truths about our amazing all powerful God. As with all of us you will only learn to trust him more through one choice at a time. It requires a focused and surrendered heart and one who is willing to spend much time in his Word. I wish I knew all that you know at this age.

    “A good thought” How much time we spend with God in prayer will determine how we view God in light of His power and ability to truly intervene in our life and the lives of others. This is my revised version of a thought that JI Packer made in his book “Knowing God”

    Love you sweetie.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

