Love and joy rekindled

James 1:2-4, “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

The Lord has very recently been testing my love for Him. This trial began with an idol in my heart.  In fact, I was slowly abandoning my first love for Jesus Christ for worldly lusts which festered in my heart. And though I was convicted of my sin and longed to fight, I was powerless to destroy it, because I had not truly confessed and repented of it before the Lord. He has since revealed to me the sin that I had long been harboring in my heart, and He has shown me exactly how far I had allowed my heart to wander from complete devotion to Him. But now I have repented and He has thrown my sin as far as the east is from the west, and I am now able to step forward in the battle against the lusts of my heart. It is difficult, grueling, painful, sorrowful even. But I believe that I am, by God’s grace, finding joy in the midst of this trial. As I begin to realize all of the things that He has taught me since I began loving Him whole-heartedly again, I am joyous and thankful for this trial. And if you don’t mind, I would like to share these things with you all.

First, God is faithful! 2 Timothy 2:13, “If we are faithless, He remains faithful; for He cannot deny Himself.” I am continually awed by the incredible faithfulness of my God. I was unfaithful and allowed sin to live in my heart. But God was faithful to show me my sin and now to guide me and teach me in His grace. This passage in 2 Timothy has gained new meaning. I cannot understand that my God would be more faithful in His love to me than the sun would be to rise to tomorrow, and yet I have seen this same God at work in my heart! I have seen the faithfulness of the Lord, and I know that His faithfulness reaches to the heavens! Psalm 36:5, “Your lovingkindness, O LORD, extends to the heavens, Your faithfulness reaches to the skies.”

Second, my God is sovereign. Romans 8:28, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who called according to His purpose.” Steven Curtis Chapman once sang, “God is God, and I am not. I can only see a part of the picture He’s painting. God is God and I am man, so I’ll never understand it all. For only God is God.” And it is for this reason that I know that I can depend upon, trust, and wait for the Lord. He is God, His timing is perfect for me, and His plan is to bring about my greatest good if I will continue to love Him. He is teaching me to be content and to wait on Him. Honestly, what a great God we serve that we have only to entrust Him with every aspect of our lives and simply wait for Him to bring about something amazing beyond belief!

Finally, how I am learning to long for and look to heaven! Psalm 73:25-26, “Whom have I in heaven by You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” How my spirit desires to say this truly and without hypocrisy! To be able to declare to the Lord that there is nothing that I desire more than to love Him, know Him, serve Him, and glorify Him. Thank God that this earth is passing away and also its lusts, and that I have the joy and the hope to look to eternity in the courts of the Lord! Psalm 84:10, “For a day in Your courts is better than a thousand outside. I would rather stand at the threshold of the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

This is the joy that I have in the Lord during trials: to know that He is faithful to provide strength and grace for all things, that He is sovereign to plan ever trial for my best, and that He has given me the promise of eternity in heaven with Him in His courts, praising His name for bringing me through the trials of this life!

Comments
3 Responses to “Love and joy rekindled”
  1. Thank you Father. It brings tears to my eyes to see His faithfulness working, not only in my life, but in yours as well. …….. Technology is so inadequate. There is no way I could possibly fully communicate my joy through this thing. Hebrews 12:10,11 “For they disciplined us for a short time as seemed best to them, but He disciplines us for our good, so that we may share His holiness. All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.”

  2. jwswift22 says:

    Thank-you for posting this thoughtful and encouraging blog entry. I do believe that though God tempts no one He does allow us to move far enough into sin at times to bring a renewed conviction about our great need for Him, for Christ, for eternal realities. Isn’t it amazing how His word resonates with our soul when our vision becomes clear. Blessings to you. I know that for His name sake he will perfect His work in us.

    Blessings, Joe.

  3. alwayzhis says:

    Thank you for sharing… 🙂 Every word is such blessed truth! Praise our God for His eternal for love for us, His adopted children…His love and mercy is unimaginable.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

