Worthy of the Gospel…

I am a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of God, Redeemer, and Savior of the world. I have been ransomed by His blood, delivered from death by His resurrection from the dead, and given eternal hope and joy through His suffering and sorrow on a cruel cross. Surely, He is the source of my every breath and in Him I have my being. And if all these things are true, it would make sense that the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ would be the motivation for everything that I do, right? I only wish that the answer to this question were “yes” for every moment, every hour, and every day. Although I have always known that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is to be the motivation and the foundation of all that I do, it seems as if the Lord is suddenly reminding me of this fact wherever I turn. How hypocritical and sinful it is that, though I call myself a Christian, I still forget that the sacrifice and resurrection of my Lord and Savior is to be the center of my life! If He has died so that I might live, should not I live in a manner which reflects the glory and majesty of His death and resurrection? As I have been reading through Philippians recently, the answer to this question has become more than apparent:

Philippians 1:27, “Only conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or remain absent, I will hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel.”

Philippians 2:5-8, “Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made int he likeness of men. Being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”

Philippians 3:7-11, “But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith, that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death; in order that I may attain the resurrection from the dead.”

I have been reminded this week that every action, word, and thought is to be done in adoration and thanksgiving to Jesus Christ, who provided the means to serve Him by bridging the separation which my sin caused between the Father and me. How great is His love, that He would bear the hideous burden of my sin and suffer the Father to abandon Him in His death so that I might be freed from bondage and delivered from judgement. What a great debt of love I now owe to the Savior, and I must do all things for His glory and praise so that I can show Him that I love Him and that I am so thankful for His sacrifice for me. I pray that I will not forget, even for a moment, this great gift of salvation that my Savior has given me!

Comments
3 Responses to “Worthy of the Gospel…”
  1. This post is awesome! Thank you for reminding me of my purpose on earth and also of the love of Christ. 🙂

  2. yalandarose says:

    yep everything starts with acknowledging God first

  3. sadiaelenaa says:

    Reblogged this on My thoughts… My views…. My life…<3 and commented:
    I guess sometimes in our lives, we our selfish,and the things we do aren’t always for the glory of God. The three texts from Philippians show exactly how we, sons and daughters of Christ should live our lives in a way that He is magnified through us, and that we must remember who paid the price for our sins.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

