“Mortifying the flesh” – The Gospel Primer

How I love my God for knowing my soul so intimately that He would bring me to such truths as these exactly when I need them most! The following is an excerpt from Milton Vincent’s book, A Gospel Primer for Christians: Learning to See the Glories of God’s Love. Recently, I have had to continually confess the vileness of my flesh to my God, asking His forgiveness for my disobedience to His Word. I have felt defeated and powerless to obey Him because of the continual onslaughts of my flesh and my wretched tendency to give into its temptations. However, in a manner I can’t explain, He graciously brought me to this specific passage in this particular book through His sovereign plan and reassured me that I am not powerless in Him. Though I have been seeking fulfillment by gratifying my sinful flesh, I must now seek total fulfillment in the One who has always been faithful to fulfill His promises. I can only hope and pray that my readers will be as encouraged to be satisfied in the Lord as I was through this small portion of Vincent’s Gospel Primer

Mortifying the Flesh with Fullness

“Though saved, I am daily beset by a sinful flesh that always craves those things that are contrary to the Spirit. These fleshly lusts are vicious enemies, constantly waging war against the good of my soul. Yet they promise me fullness, and their promises are so deliciously sweet that I often find myself giving into them as if they were friends that have me best interest at heart.

“On the most basic of levels, I desire fullness, and fleshly lusts seduce me by attaching themselves to this basic desire. They exploit the empty spaces in me, and they promise that fullness will be mine if I give into their demands. When my soul sits empty and is aching for something to fill it, such deceptive promises are extremely difficult to resist.

“Consequently, the key to mortifying fleshly lusts is to eliminate the emptiness within me and replace it with fullness; and I accomplish this be feasting on the gospel. Indeed, it is in the gospel that I experience a god who glorifies Himself by filling me with His fullness. He is the One, Paul says, ‘who fills all in all.’ He is the One who ‘fills all things’ with the gifts He gives. And He lavishes gospel blessings upon me with the goal that I ‘be filled up to all the fullness of God’. This is the God of the gospel, a God who is satisfied with nothing less than me experience of fullness in Him! The first command God spoke in the Garden was, ‘eat freely’. And with similar insistence He says to me now, ‘be filled’.

“What happens to my appetites for sin when I am filled with the fullness of God in Christ? Jesus provides this answer: ‘He who continually comes to Me will never hunger or thirst again.’ Indeed, as I perpetually feast on Christ and all of His blessings found int he gospel, I find that my hunger for diminishes and the lies of lust simply lose their appeal. Hence, to the degree that I am full, I am free. Eyes do not rove, nor do fleshly lusts rule, when the heart is fat with the love of Jesus!

“Preaching the gospel to myself each day keeps before me the startling advocacy of God for my fullness, and it also serves as a means by which I feast anew on the fullness of provision that God has given me in Christ. ‘Eating freely’ of such provision keeps me occupied with God’s blessings ans also leaves me with a profoundly enjoyable sense of satisfaction in Jesus. And nothing so mortifies fleshly lusts like satisfaction in Him.”

– Milton Vincent, A Gospel Primer for Christians

Comments
2 Responses to ““Mortifying the flesh” – The Gospel Primer”
  1. Reblogged this on Persevering Hope and commented:
    God has a sense of humor. …He at least enjoys irony. This is EXACTLY what I have been learning in my intimate time with the Lord the past two days. If one finds his complete and total satisfaction in the Lord, and pierces himself with the Sword that is the Truth of Scripture, he will not desire sin. He will not pursue those fleshly lusts, because he will be too busy pursuing Christ! Contentment and satisfaction in the Well that never runs dry, is wonderful feeling, my friends. I pray that the reader would shine the light of God’s Word on every sinful desire they have. Look at life, and your heart, from an eternal perspective. Change your perspective, you change everything.

  2. Steven Atwood says:

    Great writing.

    Hey! Great blog! Congrats! I am nominating you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Go to http://donkeywhispererfarm2010.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/my-second-very-inspiring-blogging-award/ for more info on receiving this award. God bless!

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

