New mercies

I have always loved to dwell on the thought that my God’s mercies are new every morning. I have been both comforted and convicted, knowing that though my heart is corrupt and I have sinned against my God, He is still faithful and patiently waits for me to come to Him in the morning with a humbled and repentant heart. This knowledge only grows ever more sweet to me: that the Lord’s loving-kindness and compassion toward me are never spent but are continually renewed and overflow as the sun rises, bathing me in forgiveness and washing me white as snow.

More recently, this particular hope has been on my mind constantly. It seems like the Lord is daily revealing to me the depths of my sin and disobedience to His Word, and this makes me all the more desperate for His abundant mercies! I am realizing all over again that every act of disobedience which I commit against my God is also a crucifixion of the Savior Jesus Christ in my heart. In my sin, I become as a scoffer who shakes her fist in the face of God and denies the salvation of the Lord Jesus Christ. In that moment, I am the most detestable, arrogant, selfish, and un-thankful being imaginable. Who would show mercy to this wretch?!

And yet my God forgives me! His mercies are ever new! I am now learning that I cannot see the depths of my own depravity without also becoming all the more thankful to my God that He is faithful! May every believer praise Him because we have this hope! The Lord’s loving-kindnesses never cease, His compassions never fail. What a joy it is to know that the Lord’s mercies are certain, indeed they are even more certain to overflow in the morning than the sun is to rise tomorrow.

Lamentations 3:19-32, “Remember my affliction and my wandering, the wormwood and bitterness. Surely my soul remembers and is bowed down within me. This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. The Lord’s loving-kindnesses (or mercies) indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘Therefore I have hope in Him.’ The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him. It is good that he waits silently for the salvation of the Lord.

“It is good for a man that he should bear this yoke in his youth. Let him sit alone and be silent since He has laid it on him. Let him give his cheek to the smiter, let him be filled with reproach. For the Lord will not reject forever, for He causes grief, then He will have compassion according to His abundant loving kindness.”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

