Thy Mercy, My God

Recently, the Lord brought this song to my attention as I was preparing to work with the worship team in my youth group. I was immediately struck by the simplicity and beauty as well as profoundness of the lyrics. Written by John Stocker and put to music by Sandra McCracken, Thy Mercy, My God has reminded me that I am truly nothing without the mercy of my God. Particularly in light of my last post “New Mercies”, I have been overwhelmed by God’s grace and mercy, and this song only that into words…… “Dissolved by Thy goodness, I fall to the ground, and weep for the praise of the mercy I’ve found.” I am to worship my God if for no other reason than that He has shown me incredible and infinite mercy, has redeemed me from my sin, and continues to renew His mercy and forgiveness every morning as the sun rises.

Thy Mercy, My God

Thy mercy, my God, is the theme of my song,
The joy of my heart. and the boast of my tongue;
Thy free grace alone, from the first to the last,
Hath won my affections, and bound my soul fast

Without Thy sweet mercy I could not live here;
Sin would reduce me to utter despair;
But, through Thy free goodness, my spirits revive,
And He that first made me still keeps me alive.

Thy mercy is more than a match for my heart,
Which wonders to feel its own hardness depart;
Dissolved by Thy goodness, I fall to the ground,
And weep to the praise of the mercy I’ve found.

Great Father of mercies, Thy goodness I own,
And the covenant love of Thy crucified Son;
All praise to the Spirit, Whose whisper divine
Seals mercy, and pardon, and righteousness mine

Comments
4 Responses to “Thy Mercy, My God”
  1. njamesbrooks says:

    Yu are mistaken about the origin of the song, Mercy of God. That is a song that was very popular during the Great Revival of 1800.

    • njamesbrooks says:

      The original title was “Mercy of God,” but the words are the same, identical.

    • Sierra says:

      I appreciate your input! I would agree with you that the song was popular during the Great Revival of 1800, or the Second Great Awakening, because the hymn was originally penned in 1776 by John Stocker. It is reasonable to say the song most likely had a different name and tune during that period; however, the song as we know it today is more commonly known as “Thy Mercy, My God” and sung to the melody as arranged by Sandra McCraken in 2001.

      Sources: http://www.graceofalexandria.org/blog/2012/01/23/song-of-the-month-thy-mercy-my-god/

      Would you be willing to share how you came by your understanding of the background for this particular hymn? I’d love hear about your education on the subject. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Stuart says:

    Another source of the tune, perhaps the more original, is the Collection of Easy Litanies dated 1852. Hence the name of the tunes, as I know it, St Luke (Litany)

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

