Idolatry

My God is great, mighty, awesome, powerful, glorious, and majestic infinitely beyond any other being. He is so much higher…. so worthy of my praise. There is no one else like Him! (Isaiah 46:9)  There is none who can compare the beauty, holiness, and sovereignty of my God. (Jeremiah 10:6-7) When I have so great and powerful a God, would it not be reasonable for me to worship Him, and Him only? With such a loving and gracious God, who rescues despicable me from death and brings me into life and immortality for His glory, should it not be so easy for me to love Him with my whole heart?

Exodus 20:2, “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. You shall have no other gods before Me.”

Matthew 22:36-38, “‘Teacher which is the great commandment in the Law?’ And He said to him, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the great and foremost commandment.'”

Recently, God, in His grace and sovereignty, has been teaching me that I am an idolater. Relentlessly, He has been convicting my heart of the sinful idolatry that is there. The more that I have sinned against Him in recent weeks, I have felt heavily that there has been a separation between me and my God. But of course there would be a separation when I am not worshiping only One who is truly worthy of my worship! Yes, it would be reasonable for me to worship this great God, if for no other reason than for who He is, but sin is insanity, and only God is graciously teaching me the meaning of true worship.

God has commanded His children over and over in His Word to worship Him and serve Him only. Did not Jesus, our Savior, proclaim the worship and service to be the greatest command? But of course It would be the foremost commandment that I would disobey and defy the most! I am learning that every sin that I commit is ultimately an act of idolatry. Idolatry was not merely a sin that the Israelites repeatedly fell into as they bowed down before the idols of the Canaanites. This is a sin that controls the life of every unbeliever, and it is the sin that every believer will struggle until he/she is perfected in heaven. If this were a lie, God’s Word would not be so permeated with the command that we are not to fall into idolatry!

Matthew 4:10, “… You shall worship the Lord your God, and serve Him only.”

1 Corinthians 10:7, “Do not be idolaters, as some of them were…”

1 John 5:21, “Little children, guard yourselves from idols.”

If I am, with the Lord’s grace and strength, to overcome idolatry in my heart, my only option is obedience. Idolatry is marked by disobedience to God’s commands, because it is a heart calloused and not sensitive to God’s love and grace. But the one who truly loves and worships God will obey His Word. And not just the command to “guard yourselves from idols”, but also every instruction that God has lovingly given His children in Scripture. 1 John 5:2-3, “By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and observe His commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments; and His commandments are not burdensome.”

I realize that this post may seem somewhat disjointed and abrupt, but this is just what God has laid heavily on my heart. Dear reader’s I ask only that you will consider your own hearts and seek to flee from idolatry by whole-heartedly pursuing obedience to God in all that you do. Please pray for me as I seek to worship and serve only my God and Father, turning from the desires of my sinful and flesh, and pursuing obedience in all things. By God’s grace and overwhelming strength, I will say, “Lord, I have loved this idol more than I have loved you. But I’m done with that. No more, my God, no more. I will obey and I will love only You.”

1 Corinthians 10:13-14, “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful  who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it. Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry. “

Comments
3 Responses to “Idolatry”
  1. alwayzhis says:

    Thank you for sharing this…

  2. robin claire says:

    Hi Sierra,
    I would love to know what your idol was. Mine used to be alcohol… then junk food… and now it’s caffeine!!

    • Sierra says:

      Robin,
      I apologize for my delay in replying to you. Although I am not entirely comfortable with divulging what the particular idol(s) was/were, I would to like to say this: that an idol is anything that a believer places before his/her love for God. John Calvin said, “Man’s nature, so to speak, is a perpetual factory of idols.” It is at the very core of every human being to raise up idols in the place of God because we are all sinful. Every sin is an act of idolatry because it is worship of a fleshly desire. As God reveals my own sin to me, I am beginning to feel more and more strongly about this……. hence this post. 🙂

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

