When life changes….

Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord will all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”

By nature, I am a planner and I like for life to stay the same once I feel like I’ve finally figured it out. But anyone could tell you that life doesn’t stay the same, that circumstances change as God wills for them to change, and that the only thing about life that never changes is the fact that life is always changing. Recently, it seems that God has been pleased to so alter my present circumstances so that I am thrown once again from my comfort zone and forced to make a decision as to how I will respond.

Immediately, I am tempted to become angry, discontent, and anxious. It is a curse that I so often sin in this way! No sooner has the change taken place, and my flesh immediately lashes out in the very defiance of God’s character! In my sin, I willfully deny that God is faithful and unchanging, that He is completely sovereign over me, and that His will is perfect. Not that I do not know from Scripture that these things are true, but does not sin always thrive in denial of the truth? I am shamed to say that this sin defines my response more often than not.

But God is faithful. In His grace, He is still teaching me how I am to trust Him with all of my heart and acknowledge Him in all my ways. What a blessing Scripture is! The truth is that God is ever faithful and unchanging, a rock for me that never moves or quakes, the definition of my hope and joy. Hebrews 13:8, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” If my joy is grounded and dependent upon the character of God, then it will never fade or dwindle but burn brightly in the face of any circumstance, because God is everlasting and supplies grace for all things. 2 Corinthians 12:9,”And He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness’….” 

Therefore, as each day comes, my first response must be to lay my trials and my changing circumstances at His feet. God created life to be lived one day at a time in total dependence upon Him for strength. Matthew 6:27,34, “And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?……..So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Each day, I must commit my plans to Him for Him to do whatever He wills with them. I am to simply abandon any claims to my time that I ever thought I had and surrender each day to Him. This is in total defiance of my flesh, but it is life lived in godliness for the honor of the One who sovereignly orchestrates all things for His glory.

James 4:14-15, “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.’ “

Comments
3 Responses to “When life changes….”
  1. Simple but very true. Very good.

  2. Wow! Is that what i am learning right now or what! God is teaching me that verse (Mathew 6:27,34) right now. We ARE kindred spirits, Sierra. 😉 😀

  3. robin claire says:

    Hi Sierra,
    I love to think I’m spiritual and so able to withstand the whirlwinds of change that God allows to come my way. But, like you, I am not as good at it as I would like to be. Yesterday I had a problem and had to WAIT (ugg!) for my husband to get off the phone to help me fix it. I noticed that I could hardly stay in my seat because “I want, what I want, when I want it!!”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

