John 10 – The Good Shepherd

John 10:1-5 – The Parable

“Truly, truly I say to you, he who does not enter by the door into the fold of the sheep, but climbs up some other way, he is a thief and a robber. But he who enters by the door is a shepherd of the sheep. To him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he puts forth all his own, he goes ahead of them, and the sheep follow him because they know his voice. A stranger they simply will not follow, but will flee from him , because the do not know the voice of the stranger.”

John 10:7-18 – The Explanation

“So Jesus said to them again, ‘Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door, if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.

” ‘ I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand, and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. He flees because he is a hired hand and is not concerned about the sheep. I am the good shepherd  and I know My own and My own know Me, even as the Father knows Me and I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. I have other sheep, not of this fold; I must bring them also, and they will hear My voice; and they will become one flock with one shepherd. For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again. No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on my own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father. ‘ “

John 10:25-30 – The Shepherd’s Deity

“Jesus answered them, ‘I told you, and you do not believe; the works that I do in my Father’s name, these testify of Me. But you do not believe because you are not of My sheep. My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.’ “

Comments
2 Responses to “John 10 – The Good Shepherd”
  1. robin claire says:

    I would love to hear your take on what this passage means to you. As a sheep I “hear” God voice every day. I have heard it so long that, just as I recognize the voice of my sister when she calls, I recognize the voice of my shepherd by the tone and timber of His voice. I have heard demons’ voices as well and I tell you, I can recognize the tone and timber of their voices too. They’ve said such things as “Get a gun and shoot yourself in the head!” “Stick your arm in the spinning washing machine!” and other horrendous things to me. But I have learned to recognize their voices and so cry to my shepherd to save me from them.

    • Sierra says:

      Robin,
      I think it is a fascinating and wonderful thing that the Lord’s sheep, as believers in Christ, can hear His voice. However, I believe that you and I think differently on how we hear His voice. Would you be willing to tell me where in Scripture you have found that you would be able to hear the “tone and timber” of God’s voice? I will say that I have never seen anywhere in God’s Word that believers can audibly hear spiritual voices, whether God’s or that of demons. So, I honestly don’t believe that it is possible.

      However, as far as what I do believe about this passage, when it says that the Lord’s sheep hear and know His voice, I believe that it is speaking of His Word, the Bible. As followers of Jesus Christ, we must know and hide Scripture in our hearts because it is the literal words of God. If we know His Word, we will know His “voice” and will recognize anything that is contrary to His Word as false. In order to recognize a lie or the teaching of a “stranger” and flee from it, we must know the truth inside and out, backwards and forwards so that we will live in obedience to God, rather than be lead astray by false teaching.
      John 8:31b-32, “If you continue in My Word, then you are truly disciples of Mine. And you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

