Hast Thou No Scar – Amy Charmichael

As believers, we have the wonderful, blessed gift of salvation in Jesus Christ. But is not also true that we have the gift of being able to suffer for His sake? To live a life for the glory of God, that is, according to His Word, is to suffer persecution, suffering, trials, hardships, revilement, rejection, and hatred from the world. But this is no more than what Jesus Christ suffered so that we would be brought to Himself through His death and resurrection. Therefore, since our greatest desire is to not only represent Christ, but also to look like Him and to be conformed to His image, it is our greatest joy to suffer as He has suffered for our sakes. Since He has been wounded so that we would live, broken that we might be healed, will we not also rejoice when trials come since they produce the scars which mirror those of our Savior? In this poem, Hast Thou No Scar, Amy Carmichael expresses these thoughts in a prayer to Her Redeemer.  It is a beautiful poem and once that represents the mindset that every believer should cultivate, having the desire to serve, honor and glorify God by suffering for His name’s sake.

Hast Thou No Scar 

by Amy Carmichael

Hast thou no scar?
No hidden scar on foot, or side, or hand?
I hear thee sung as mighty in the land,
I hear them hail thy bright ascendant star,
Hast thou no scar?

Hast thou no wound?
Yet, I was wounded by the archers, spent.
Leaned me against the tree to die, and rent
By ravening beasts that compassed me, I swooned:
Hast thou no wound?

No wound? No scar?
Yet as the Master shall the servant be,
And pierced are the feet that follow Me;
But thine are whole. Can he have followed far
Who has no wound nor scar?

……………………………..

Philippians 1:29, “For to you it has been granted for Christ’s sake, not only to believe in Him, but also to suffer for His sake.”

James 1:2-4, “Consider it all joy, my beloved brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance, and let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

2 Timothy 3:12, “Indeed, all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.”

Comments
5 Responses to “Hast Thou No Scar – Amy Charmichael”
  1. Such a great Post, Sierra. What a heart you have for The LORD! I hope too to be able to serve the LORD through all trials in my life, for we will never be ashamed when spreading His Word.

    • Gwen Coleman says:

      I heard Elizabeth Elliot (Jim Elliot’s wife) recite this poem during a speech in KC. Thank you so much for taking the time to make this available for all to find, read, and be inspired.
      May GOD bless you as you continue to serve Him and others.

  2. Nancy L. Wearne says:

    I love this poem also , l read it in , Streams in the Desert, also heard Elizabeth Elliot speak it when I heard her speak in Los Vegas. I want Christ Jesus to us my scars for glory and compassion.

  3. Manoj says:

    Hi Sierra. Wonderful to know,your response to Gods saving Love. I can like wise affirm to How much He has loved me.Relentlessly pursued me by His unconditional love..I too want to Surrender,submit,yield my all to HIM.God Bless you more and more each day.

  4. I love this post! It speaks to my in my time of disheartedness and trial. Thank you!

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

