“Again, I will say rejoice!”

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

1 Thessalonians 5:16, “Rejoice always…”

It is not enough to say that I do not rejoice as often as I should, nor as passionately as I should. Recently, the Lord not only convicted me of my lack of joy, but also encouraged my heart with all that I have to truly rejoice in. Really, how many of us rejoice always, every day of our week, every moment of our days without exception? None. And yet, how many of us have an excuse not to rejoice? Not one. We have all received the numerous commands to rejoice…

Philippians 1:3, “Finally, then, brethren, rejoice in the Lord…”

Philippians 2:18, “…rejoice in the same way, and share your joy with me.”

Philippians 4:4, “Rejoice in the Lord always; again, I will say rejoice!”

Matthew 5:12, “Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great…”

2 Corinthians 13:11, “Finally, brethren, rejoice, be made complete, be comforted…”

Romans 12:15, “Rejoice with those who rejoice..”

The Word just goes on. Let me tell you, I am incredibly disobedient when it comes to rejoicing at all times! So often, I am discontent, anxious, and angry when I ought to be celebrating in my Lord Jesus Christ. But, by the God’s grace, I am beginning to realize one by one all of the incredible things that He has given me, and every other believer, to rejoice in. Even as I confess my anger and anxiety to Him, I find joy in His forgiveness.

For every second of eternity, there is something that our God has given us in we are to rejoice, if it be only His eternal Being. My present circumstances should have absolutely no effect on the passionate nature of the joy that I have in Christ. His awesome character and nature – His love, grace, majesty, sovereignty, and justice, etc – transcends eternity, and so shall my joy, so long as it rests in Him. Beyond all this, His blessings to me are innumerable and His Word is brimming with promises which encourage and uplift me in my every step as I walk by my Savior’s side.

Dear reader, be encouraged! Rejoice in the Lord! We have every reason imaginable to rejoice always in our great God.

Psalm 35:9, “And my soul shall rejoice in the Lord; It shall exult in His salvation.”

Psalm 96:11-12, “Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice; Let the sea roar, and all it contains; Let the field exult, and all that is in it. Then all the trees of the forest will sing for joy…”

Philippians 1:18, “What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed; and in this I rejoice. Yes, and I will rejoice.”

1 Peter 1:8, “And though you have not seen Him, you love Him, and though you do not see Him now, but believe in Him, you greatly rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory.”

Revelation 19:7, “Let us rejoice and be glad and give the glory to Him, for the marriage of the Lamb has come and His bride has made herself ready.”

Comments
One Response to ““Again, I will say rejoice!””
  1. Rejoice! My God loves me, what else do I need to rejoice! Thank you so much Sierra! That really spoke to me. 🙂

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

