Desperate for grace

2 Corinthians 12:9, “And He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly therefore, I will rather boast of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”

Taken by Sierra Hanson

Taken by Sierra Hanson

In recent weeks, I have found myself completely and totally overwhelmed with responsibilities, decisions, activities, and just generally trying to live life on a some sort of schedule. What with difficult college classes to keep up with, a church body to serve and be involved in, an upcoming solo piano album to release, and two jobs that eat three days out of my week, there have been several instances when I know I wouldn’t have been able to maintain this incredible pace aside from God’s grace. On numerous occasions, I have been driven to sacrifice sleep, time with friends, “me-time”, and even some family time because these responsibilities have been pressing on me. Oh, how I am realizing that I am in desperate need of God’s grace!

More often than not, I think of God’s grace as that which brings sinners, including me, to salvation in Christ Jesus. It is God’s amazing grace that sets the lost free from bondage to sin, that redeems the soul, and brings the spiritually dead to life. These things are all true, but I have recently been reminded of the huge need for God’s grace on a daily basis, not just in salvation. God has ordained everyday of my life to be lived according to and by the power of His grace. Aside from His mercies, I cannot trust Him, obey Him, serve Him, or fight for Him as I ought to everyday. And particularly as I struggle with several of my own sin issues and as I wrestle to put off the old man and put on the new (which is really, really hard to do!), I have found that I will never find victory in the fight aside from God’s grace.

Interestingly, I found myself relating more and more to King David when he wrote his psalms. Every day, I have made it a point to study a few of the Psalms, and I never realized until now just how desperate the Psalmist is for God’s daily grace…

Psalm 26:11, “But as for me, I shall walk in my integrity; redeem me, and be gracious to me.”

Psalm 27:7, “Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice, and be gracious to me and answer me.”

Psalm 41:4, “As for me, I said, ‘O Lord, be gracious to me; heal my soul, for I have sinned against You.”

Psalm 57:1, “Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me, for my soul takes refuge in You; and in the shadow of Your wings I will take refuge until destruction passes by. “

Psalm 119:58, “I sought Your favor with all my heart; be gracious to me according to Your Word.”

This has become one of my foremost requests of the Lord, that He would graciously sustain me and satisfy me in Him. And I cannot express the joy that I have felt when seeing just how abundant His grace really is. I am praising Him because His grace is sufficient for each day in and of itself. For every day, there is a measure of grace that Lord has laid up for me if I will but choose to trust Him and live according to His word. What a blessing and a comfort His grace has been to me! By His grace, I have even been learning to pray more, and in my prayers I can only ask that He will continually give me grace as I seek to serve Him in all circumstances and situations of life.

“Grace, grace, grace paid for my sins and brought me to life. Grace, grace, grace clothes me with power to do what is right. Grace, grace, grace will lead me to heaven where I’ll see Your face, and never cease to thank You for Your grace.”

Comments
One Response to “Desperate for grace”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 844 other followers

