God, teach me to trust…

Recently, I have found myself with so many questions. My heart has been troubled and my mind crowded with thoughts, trying to sort through life. Wondering how I need to respond to present circumstances, wondering what God has in store for my future, wondering what His plan is,  wondering how to be joyous in Him, wondering how I am supposed to be doing His will… what is His will for me? And what does “perfect timing” mean? With my head, I know that I am to be living a life that is completely devoted to the Lord’s service, I am to be trusting Him with every single situation in life, but I feel that my heart is fragile and my faith weak. I am crying out to the Lord for Him to lead me, to increase my faith, to make me stronger, to teach me what it means to trust Him in His perfect planning that is completely sovereign and ultimately for my best. But my flesh resists this trust. What exactly am I afraid of? Why won’t I simply trust God and stop fretting, worrying, and being anxious about what lies ahead, what He has in store for me?

I have been seeking comfort and wisdom from several passages of God’s Word:

Romans 8:28, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

Matthew 6:33-34, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”

1 Peter 5:6-7, “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”

Isaiah 40: 29-31, “He give strength to the weary, and to him who lacks might He increases power. Though youths grow weary and tired, and vigorous men stumble badly, yet those who wait for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.”

These are all familiar pieces of Scripture, but I have to ask myself, am I living in a manner that says that I believe them? And just like these are default passages when discouragement comes, there are also many obvious truths in which I must constantly take comfort. Such as, God is sovereign. He is perfect. He doesn’t make mistakes. He loves me. He works all things for good. He is eternal. His grace is sufficient. His provision is all I need. He is faithful, even when I am faithless. I can do all things in His strength. I could go on…

All of these wonderful promises should have the profoundest effect on the way that I live life. They should cause me to trust in God, to desperately thirst for Him, and to love Him with all of my heart, soul, mind, and strength. Really, that’s what I’m searching for and desperately seeking and crying out to the Lord for. I want to love Him more, seek Him earnestly, and trust Him with every day, every circumstance, every desire that I have. I want to be Christ-like, to be a woman after God’s own heart, to accomplish great things for God. But I feel like my faith is so small in comparison to what it needs to be to accomplish God’s will for me. All these questions about the future… I want answers, and I want God to tell me the ways that He will use me. But will I simply trust Him to reveal those things to me at the right time?

Maybe I just need patience. I will know God’s will for me in time. As I study His Word and continue to fervently lift up these questions and desires to Him, I know that He will show Himself  faithful. Maybe I just need to wait. Even His sanctification takes time. In a little while, He will increase my faith, if I will simply continue to pursue Him by seeking to be obedient to His Word. I need to trust Him to teach me to trust Him. He is the only One who has earned my complete and total trust and devotion through the sacrifice of His Son, and so I must learn to trust nothing and no one on this earth besides Him.

Father, I pray that I will be patient in waiting, that I will simply hand over my life to You continually and trust You to bring about Your sovereign and perfect plan for me. Your thoughts, Your ways, Your plan, Your timing – they are all mysteries to me, and they are so much higher than I. God, grant me grace, for I know that it is sufficient. Give me Your strength, for I know that in it I can do all things. Teach my heart and sanctify me so that I will trust You with complete abandon, not caring so long as Your will is accomplished  Those who wait for You will gain new strength… Your mercies are new every morning… great is Your faithfulness… Your timing is perfect… You will accomplish the work that You have begun in me… nothing can separate me from Your love… all things work together for good to those who love You and are called according to Your purpose. God, help me to remember these promises and to focus on doing Your will in all things, and may You receive the glory in all things at all times for all eternity.

Comments
6 Responses to “God, teach me to trust…”
  1. Awesome post Sierra! We’re in a delicate time in our lives right now, working and going to college, and the decisions we make mow and way we spend our time will develop patterns in our lives. It was great to be reminded to trust in the Lord and encouraging to see how you’re striving to do so.

  2. mixxlife says:

    This post truly blessed me this morning. I pray God will keep you encouraged during this time and give you the desires of your heart in time. He is truly shaping you for His glory. Keep writing! God bless you!

  3. Makayla Joy Holm says:

    That is my prayer for the rest of my life. He has been teaching me to trust in him for many years and it is my desire to serve him in that area of my life to the best of my abilities! Proverbs 3:5-6 has been His verse to me during this time of teaching me to trust in him! He brings it up over and over and I thank Him.
    Thank you so much Sierra for being my AWESOME sister in Christ and Amazing Friend.
    Thank you for allowing God to speak to me through you. 🙂 Love you forever!

  4. Amen, may this be all of His followers prayer

  5. May the triune nature of Father, son Jesus Christ and Holy Spirit captivate your heart and draw you closer to His amazing love. When you surrender, the Holy Spirit convicts u and the blood of Christ sanctifies you and u are presented before the Father without any blemish as Christ bride. It is the best place where you can be. Blessings. Amen

  6. Risa says:

    This post has blessed me this morning!!! Thank u so much for sharing!!!!and to Yahweh May all the glory belong to him!!!

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

