“Increase Your Praise”

In God’s grace I am seeking to be humble. And as I seek, the first step that I am deciding to take is to learn more about the character of my God, for He deserves all praise and adoration. When He first revealed to me the despicable pride that had infested my heart, I suddenly realized that my perspective on God had significantly diminished while my view of myself inflated. But now, in His strength, I desire to know Him more, so that my perception of His character is real and accurate, causing me to praise Him more and more.

Consequently, while I was reading through a favorite daily devotional book of mine, entitled “Strengthen My Spirit” by Charles Spurgeon, I was immediately drawn into one of the daily readings when I saw the title, “Increase Your Praise”. I will not go into detail to explain the excellent things that Spurgeon had to say in this particular devotional…. because I want you to read it for yourself. Peruse it, dear reader, and be encouraged, as I was, to praise God more and more, to lift Him up because of the great God that He is.

Increase Your Praise

Charles Spurgeon

“Every Christian as he grows in grace should have a loftier idea of God. Out highest conception of God falls infinitely short of His glory; but an advanced Christian enjoys a  far clearer view of what God is than he had at the first. Now the greatness of God is ever a claim for praise. ‘Great is the Lord, and’ – what follows? – ‘greatly to be praised.’ If then God is greater to me than He was, let my praise be greater. If i think of Him now more tenderly as my Father – if I have a clearer view of Him in the terror of His justice – if I have a clearer view of the splendors of His wisdom by which He devised the atonement – if I have larger thoughts of His eternal, immutable love – let every advance in knowledge constrain me to say: ‘I will yet praise You more and more.’ I heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eyes see You. Therefore while I abhor myself in dust and ashes, my praise shall rise yet more loftily; up to Your throne my song shall ascend.”

1 Chronicles 16:23-27, “Sing to the Lord, all the earth;  proclaim good tidings of His salvation from day to day. Tell of His glory among the nations, His wonderful deeds among all the peoples. For great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; He also is to be feared above all gods. For all the gods of the peoples are idols, but the Lord made the heavens. Splendor and majesty are before Him, strength and joy are in His place…”

Comments
3 Responses to ““Increase Your Praise””
  1. Being truly grateful to God for all that we experience and enjoy each moment is the greatest prayer.

    Inspiring !

  2. Dave says:

    Wonderful. I am glad I browsed onto your blog because many of the words you have written have been coming up in my everyday speech. God bless you, in Jesus’ Name.

  3. Jen Wilton says:

    Solid 🙂
    Glad I stumbled upon your blog. Love how God speaks to each of us individually & yet as a whole. He is amazing.
    Thanks for posting!

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

