Restless ’til I rest in You

Over the last several weeks, I have been learning that to be spiritually restless is unlike any other trial. This is unrest of heart and mind when circumstances of life overwhelm me, and I find myself desiring earnestly to trust the One who ordained those circumstances, yet  feeling so hesitant and incapable at the same time. How I prayed that God would teach me to trust Him! I knew in my mind that He was absolutely sovereign, but was I living in light of that knowledge? What about these tumultuous emotions that I was feeling, that were caused by circumstances that He appointed for me, were they evidence that I was not trusting Him as I ought? Surely He knew that my heart would ache, and surely He could empathize with my struggles. But was I, in my sadness and confusion, responding incorrectly to God’s will? Would I be able to serve Him and obey Him better if I responded differently, or felt differently?

All these questions were flooding my heart and mind at once. Honestly, my greatest desire was to serve God, and I had prayed often that He would give me opportunities to minister. Yet, when the opportunities came, I felt inadequate to fulfill any needs while my own heart was bearing a burden caused by circumstances that God had ordained for me. I was dismayed that I seemingly could not accomplish God’s work because I was struggling too much with His will was for me at the time.  I wanted to know how I was supposed to trust Him and serve Him right where He had put me.

If there is one thing that I have since learned, it is that God is faithful – oh, so faithful! Even while I was wrestling in my own heart, He was answering my prayer – strengthening me to serve Him in each day and teaching me to trust Him. Every morning, I asked for His peace, and every morning I was renewed. Although many days ended in utter physical and spiritual exhaustion, and some even in tears, I always looked forward to the mornings when I knew I could be simply be still, when I could cease striving as I poured out my heart before the Lord and let Him fill it again with the promises from His Word. His promises are my comfort; they are true….

Isaiah 26:3-4, “The steadfast mind You will keep in perfect peace because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever, for in God the Lord, we have an everlasting Rock.”

Philippians 4:6-7, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God, and the peace which surpasses all comprehension will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

Psalm 91:1-2, “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust!’ “

Even while my spirit was restless and struggling to find peace with God’s will for me, He was providing that peace through His Word. I prayed and told Him how tired and worn I was, how heavy my heart was, and He comforted me with the promise of rest and protection in Him, so long as I would trust Him. The truth is that the only place that I can ever find spiritual peace and rest is in God. But, again, I am required to trust Him. The Lord gives all spiritual comfort and stillness to the soul waits confidently and expectantly for that comfort and stillness. Honestly, I am learning simply that I will always be restless until I rest in Him.

Psalm 46:10 ” Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Psalm 62:5, “My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us.”

Comments
2 Responses to “Restless ’til I rest in You”
  1. Such a beautiful and encouraging post. I have definitely had my seasons of feeling restless and unsettled about my life and where I was at but like you said, God is always faithful no matter what and often times it is during those times that He teaches us the most and we grow in Him even more than before! 🙂

  2. Nate says:

    I soooo get this!!! Rest in Him, otherwise I am restless.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

