How deep!

Now, coming back to you all after a two-month period of respite from the Anchored Soul blog, I find myself returning with many new thoughts and treasures in my heart. Unfortunately, I am nowhere near able to express how the Lord has been instructing me and convicting me, but if He has taught me anything, it has all centered around the truth of the Gospel. How unfathomable are the riches that are to be found in Christ, and how much greater my passion for Christ would be if I would comprehend the depths of the mysteries of His Gospel.

Ephesians 1:7, “In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace.”

Ephesians 2:4-7, “But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made is alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.” 

Ephesians 3:8, “To me, the very least of all saints, this grace was given, to preach to the Gentiles the unfathomable riches of Christ,”

I have found, over this past summer, that the wealth of joy and glory to be found in the Gospel message of Jesus Christ is far more than I could ever dream or imagine. I have suddenly begun to see more clearly my own inadequacy and incredible foolishness in comparison to the Almighty God. For the good news of His Son is deeper, wider, and higher than what I have the ability to comprehend. His love, His grace, His mercy, His ultimate holiness, His forgiveness –  all of these are concepts that I thought I understood. However, at the same time, God was graciously showing me my sin, and I saw myself returning repeatedly to despicable patterns that I thought that I had conquered. As I despaired at my own depravity, I was truly amazed that Almighty, Infinite, and Holy Creator would love me. I am beginning to see my sin as the offense that it is to my God. I know that I cannot possibly know the limits of the mysteries contained in the Gospel of Christ, for I am too sinful and finite in comparison to the holiness of Christ Himself, the Savior. I have frequently returned to the beautiful lyrics of these familiar melodies…

How deep is Your love! How high and how wide is your mercy. How deep is Your grace. My heart overflows with praise to You.” (How Deep)

The mystery of the cross I cannot comprehend, the agonies of Calvary. You the Perfect Holy One crushed Your Son, who drank the bitter cup reserved for me. Your blood has washed away my sin. Jesus, thank You. The Father’s wrath completely satisfied. Jesus, thank You. Once Your enemy, now seated at Your table. Jesus, thank You.” (Jesus, Thank You)

But not only are these mysteries beyond my own imagining, but they are also riches, gifts that God freely gives, despite my own inability to appreciate their priceless value. Not only do I not understand the riches of the Gospel, but I do not deserve them either! But what a joy and a comfort to know that God freely bestows on us the benefits of His love, kindness, and forgiveness, though we will not comprehend them until we are standing before His throne.  This is why it says “He might show the surpassing riches of His grace”. They far surpass anything that I could think or imagine, anything that I could deserve or merit, anything that I could appreciate or pay in return.  They simply overwhelm me and overtake me, and I am left speechless in the wake of these waves of grace!

I pray that the Lord will continue to open my eyes to the greatness of Christ’s sacrifice the power of His resurrection, and the joy of sharing the good news. I pray that He will not only alight in me a passion for the Gospel of Christ because of these unfathomable riches, but that He will also increase the fervor in the hearts of all His children, as He teaches them the incomparable glories of knowing Jesus Christ. These are riches that cannot be described! These are riches beyond riches! What a fire would burn in our hearts if we sought after the treasures of Christ with increasing zeal, and strove to understand them so that we would glorify Him more!

 

Comments
3 Responses to “How deep!”
  1. Jen Wilton says:

    Solid Truth. His Word is a powerful force & the reality of WHO He is totally transforms us. His love is amazing.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Marley says:

    What a testimony. You have blessed me today. His love is deep enough and is strong enough.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

