Chosen and Appointed – Musings on John 15:16-17

John 15:16-17, “You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name he may give to you. This I command you, that you love one another.”

– “You did not choose Me, but I chose you” – Christ has chosen me. When I was running toward the flames like a madman, blinded by pride and passion, completely self-consumed and oblivious to my own terrible fate, He chose me. He chose to melt my heart, open my eyes, stop me in my tracks, rescue me from the death that I pursued, turn me around, welcome me from darkness into His marvelous light, change me. I had no beauty, no excellence, no goodness in me that He should notice me. Despicable I was, and depraved, held in chains by the inherited slave driver, sin. I was one lost and without hope, but pleased to rebel against the Creator and suffer His eternal wrath for it. Yet, even before I existed, Christ had set His love upon me. Colossians 3:12. I did not turn to Him of my own accord, but He revealed Himself to me through His Word and taught me to forsake sin and love Him. Even then, I loved only because He first loved me. 1 John 4:19.

– “and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit” – Christ has appointed me. Since He has changed me, saved me, recreated me, given me a new birth and new life, and made me a new creature, He has also given me a designated task for this life. 2 Corinthians 5:17. The children of God are not to be an unemployed people, but are ones who have been chosen for a purpose, to perform the duty which the Lord will give each one of them, in light of their person according to His weaving of them in the womb. For this I have been appointed and to this end have I been marked, commanded, instructed and equipped: to bear fruit. John 15:5. What is the fruit that I must bear? Is it not love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control? Galatians 5:22-23. These are deeds which before were alien and impossible for me in my darkened understanding! How much fruit shall I bear? Is it not to be an all the more abundant, ever-increasing harvest which testifies of the Lord Jesus Christ, that I am His and He is mine? Matthew 7:20. And how often shall I bear fruit? Should it not be every waking moment, whatever I am doing, whether eating or drinking, doing all things for the glory of the Father, the Son, and the Spirit? 1 Corinthians 10:31.

– “so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name he may give to you” – In this capacity, then, Christ has provided in Himself full, unprecedented, and irreproachable access to the Father, that the ones He has chosen might boldly approach the throne of mercy, the Holy of Holies with pleadings and adoration and thankfulness and supplication. Romans 8:15-16. In Him, I know that I may have joy in contrition, peace in troubled requests, hope through faith audibly expressed, confidence that in whatever I may ask of the Most High, I will receive because of the pleadings of Christ on my behalf. Romans 8:33-34. Beyond all this, though my words in the daily presence of the Father be muddled, confused, and infinitely unsuited for so great, so high a God who is beyond my wildest imaginings – still, I find comfort in the intercedings of the Spirit, whose deepest groanings are sufficient to cover my feeble cries. Romans 8:26-27.

– “This I command you, that you love one another.” – For this reason, being called our and chosen by Christ, having received an appointment to bear fruit according to His delineation, and since I may obtain everything necessary to please Christ through urgent prayers before the Father, I have one command from the Lord Jesus. “This I command you, that you love one another.” Is there a greater commandment than this? Besides knowing, loving, and honoring the triune God Himself, have I been given a greater charge in this life than to love my neighbor?Matthew 22:36-40. There is no question of what I must pursue while I am still alive on this earth. For it is in this occupation that the world will know and will stand in awe of the One to whom I belong! John 13:35. To love others with the love that I have been given, to ensure that these beloved neighbors are loving Jesus – this is my calling. And when I meditate on this fact, I am confounded by how much I fail in this directive daily. But oh, to be able to show patience, kindness, grace, humility, selflessness, forgiveness, joy, and mercy toward all of my brothers and sisters in Christ… 1 Corinthians 13:4-8. Such perfect love I know I will not attain until I am standing in the heavenly courts. Yet, this love I will pursue, for it is the work which Christ has appointed me to.

In His infinite love, Christ looked upon me and set me apart that I might love in the same way which He has loved me…

John 15:12-13, “This is My commandment, that you love one another, just I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends…”

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

