“Purification” – Valley of Vision

Psalm 51:10-17, “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence and do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation and sustain me with a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, and sinners will be converted to You. Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, the God of my salvation; then my tongue will joyfully sing of Your righteousness. O Lord, open my lips, that my mouth may declare Your praise. For You do not delight in sacrifice, otherwise I would give it; You are not pleased with burnt offering. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.”

~~~

Purification – Valley of Vision

Lord Jesus,

I sin – Grant that I may need cease grieving because of it, never be content with myself, never think I can reach a point of perfection.

Kill my envy, command my tongue, trample down self.

Give me grace to be holy, kind, gentle, pure, peaceable; to live for Thee and not for self, to copy Thy words, acts, spirit; to be transformed into Thy likeness; to be consecrated wholly to Thee; to live entirely for Thy glory,

Deliver me from attachment to things unclean, from wrong associations, from the predominance of evil passions, from the sugar of sin as well as its gall, that with self-loathing, deep contrition, and earnest heart searching, I may come to Thee, cast myself on Thee, trust in Thee, cry to Thee, be delivered by Thee.

O God, Eternal All, help me to know that all things are shadows, but Thou art substance; all things are quicksands, but Thou art a mountain; all things are shifting, but Thou art an anchor, all things are ignorance, but Thou art wisdom.

If my life is to be a crucible amid burning heat, so be it, but do Thou sit at the furnace mouth to watch the ore that nothing be lost.

If I sin willfully, grievously, tormentedly, in grace take away my mourning and give me music; remove my sackcloth and clothe me with beauty; still my sighs and fill my mouth with song; then give me summer weather as a Christian.

~~~

Comments
One Response to ““Purification” – Valley of Vision”
  1. Dexter says:

    This is very beautiful. I have been reading your blog. I admire your faith, and your devotion to God. I like how much you condemn sin, too many people now days are consumed by it. It even seams like some Christians now don’t even see anything wrong with sin using the argument that “if it isn’t hurting anyone [else], why should God care what I do”.
    It is easy to get sucked down into it and it is so difficult to escape. I don’t really have any guidance right now, but I am working on improving myself.

What do you think?

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 843 other followers

